well, i was redoing my article on public health for latinos, i conducted interviews and investigated why many diabetics are having trouble keeping their diets. SOOOO, i figured outthat mexican supermarkets are not diabetic friendly. They don't offer products which are sugar free or healthy, and even if they do, they are expensive and out of THE price range for anyone trying to save money.
Another thing. Who cares about the swine flu?
Diabeties, obesity, AIDS, CURSING, TWEETER, AND Internet Suicides are empidemics. Why not report on that??!?!?!
Wednesday, May 13, 2009
Wednesday, April 29, 2009
Pure Exaggeration
Media problem
I bet you've heard the news about the SWINE flu or H1N1. Also, how they argue what it should be called, since it really doesn't come from eating pig. Whatever its called, it has kept many under an umbrella of paranoia. YOu go to markets, restaurants, heads turn as they hear a cough. Even at work places, if you are sick "stay home". I dearly, can't stand all of these exaggeration. It is the flu. So what? we live in a developed country.
I bet you've heard the news about the SWINE flu or H1N1. Also, how they argue what it should be called, since it really doesn't come from eating pig. Whatever its called, it has kept many under an umbrella of paranoia. YOu go to markets, restaurants, heads turn as they hear a cough. Even at work places, if you are sick "stay home". I dearly, can't stand all of these exaggeration. It is the flu. So what? we live in a developed country.
Swine Flu
As of right now i havn't really picked a topic that i'm going to stick with but as of now i have no choice. I guess i'm going to go with the whole "Swine Flu" issue. Since this is one of the biggest news stories of the week. For the past couple of days this is all i have been hearing and how it can be deadly if it is not treated. I had heard it started in Mexico and it is working it's way to the United States. The reason for this is that people are visiting relatives who live in mexico and are catching it there and bringing it back over hear. Which is really scary. This could turn into such a huge thing that it's hard to have an opinion on it. I guess the best thing would be for people to try to stay away from mexico as long as possible untill this whole thing goes away or something.
Laker Basketball
To stand in the way of your own success is idiotic. Lakers basketball I love it but what i do not love is the Lakers forth quarter, coasting method. Tuesday, against Utah in the first round of the playoffs, the Lakers were winning by twenty-two points at the start of the forth quarter, which is good and bad for Laker fans.
If you are not a die hard Laker fan you will not see the problem in the Lakers winning by twenty-two points but if you know the Lakers like I know the Lakers, then that extremely large lead does not mean anything.
The Lakers manage to blow large leads....
If you are not a die hard Laker fan you will not see the problem in the Lakers winning by twenty-two points but if you know the Lakers like I know the Lakers, then that extremely large lead does not mean anything.
The Lakers manage to blow large leads....
False Left.
How sad, how strange. With the election over in nothing as oh so convoluted as what happened in '04, I find myself a bit...sad. More angry than sad, honestly, but the sadness is there. Black. Well...more of a light grey. See what I did there, English Way? I can rhyme but have no time, moving on. The reason for such sadness is the left, that which holds a majority in the house and senate, and of course controls the executive branch. One would think that with the blatant anti-intellectualism that went on in the republican branch, and the insanity of the last 8 years that I can only honestly describe as fucking retarded...one would think there would be a new age of thought and emphasis on the growth of the mind. I wish this were true, but it is not. The right seems very RIGHT to me, but the left...it seems centrist at best. The things that I care about are not voiced as clearly or as strongly as I would like. The very idea of Obama scoffing at the legalization of marijuana is predictable, but all the same lamentable. Political suicide, maybe...but times are tough. There needs to be a hard ass that says "Hey, we can't play this game anymore." But I think we all know that isn't happening in this President, as much as I like and respect him. But he plays it too safe, when in the past 8 years the last administration did everything but. And the torture that went on...that which actually made me memorize how to spell the word, it isn't being handled in the correct way, in my mind. Is it what the Nazis did? Is it what Imperial Japan did? No, and iffy no respectively. But it is certainly a step too far. There should be some powerful leftest that says "Hey, that is NOT ok, and you KNEW it wasn't ok!". Try to get the nation back to harmony, instead of covering it up as "partisan". Sadly, we see nothing of that from the democrats, like always. Dumb ideas or no ideas? Apathy usually does less damage than extreme retardation, but it's funny how life works sometimes.
Oh well. At least there's no talk from them about another Assault Weapons Ban.
Oh well. At least there's no talk from them about another Assault Weapons Ban.
Wednesday, April 22, 2009
construction deaths
I always knew that construction could be a dangerous job to persue but i never knew there were so many deaths involved in it. The stories that the people told about some of the workers were horrifiying. The video had told a story of all these people that died that once had a family.
4/22/09
While watching this multimedia project the most things that i found was compelling was the fact how they had biographies of all the workers that died and why and where and how they died. The most effective thing to me was the fact that they had people like their relatives to talk about the situation and how they felt about it and what they should do to prevent these type of things from happening to anyone else.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)